Under Florida law, you are considered to be driving under the influence if you drive with a blood alcohol concentration of .08 or higher. Even if you feel your driving capabilities are not impaired, you are still considered to be breaking the law. Florida law also states that if you were driving a vehicle, you must submit to a chemical test to determine the amount of alcohol that is present in your system. Many people are not aware of the Florida DUI laws.
What are the minimum jail sentences for DUI convictions?
First time offenders: No minimum jail sentence.
Second time offenders: 10 days minimum jail sentence.
Third time offenders: 30 days minimum jail sentence.
What other penalties may occur?
First time DUI convictions require drivers to participate in 50 hours of community service. Additionally, a $10 fine can occur for every hour of required community service. First time DUI offenders may serve up to1 year total between jail time and probation.
All DUI offenders are required to attend a DUI school.
All DUI offenders will have their licensed revoked. This period varies based on number of convictions. All first time offenders will lose their license for at least 180 days. Third time offenders (within 10 years of second conviction) lose their license for at minimum of 10 years!
Ignition interlock devices may be required!
Ignition interlock devices are required in the following situations:
For offenders who have a second DUI conviction within 5 years.
For offenders who have a third DUI conviction within 10 years.
What are the laws for drivers under the age of 21?
While drinking under the age of 21 is illegal, there are also special DUI laws for drivers who are under the age of 21. Florida law states that drivers who are under 21 are considered driving under the influence if the blood alcohol concentration is 0.5% or higher. Additional penalties are possible, such as a license revocation.
A Florida DUI can be costly!
First time offenders are subject to fines raging from $500-$1,000. If blood alcohol concentration is.15 or higher or if a minor is in the vehicle, fines range from $1,000-$2,000.
Second time offenders are subject fines ranging from $1,000-$2,000. If blood alcohol concentration is.15 or higher or if a minor is in the vehicle, fines range from $2,000-$4,000.
Drivers convicted of a third offence within 10 years are subjected to up to $5,000 in fines or 5 years imprisonment.
Any driver who causes serious bodily injury while driving under the influence is guilty of a Third Degree Felony, which is subjected to up to $5,000 in fines or 5 years imprisonment. We can help!
Our Jacksonville criminal Law attorneys can help answer your questions. We can explain your legal rights as well as get you the justice that you deserve!
If you or a loved one is arrested for a DUI consult with the experienced Jacksonville criminal law attorney at Arnold Law. Call (904) 264-3627, or email us. To better serve you, we have offices in Jacksonville and Green Cove Springs. Your initial consultation is FREE. CALL NOW!